Devastating news out of California has many people here in Michigan asking for stricter underage drinking laws, especially in cases of teenagers getting behind the wheel and driving afterwards.
In order for Michigan authorities to arrest a person for DUI or other related offenses, they must first have reason to suspect that a person is driving drunk. In some cases, as we have discussed before, police discover an intoxicated driver as a result of a traffic stop. In other cases, police become aware of a driver after receiving calls from civilians. In many situations, DUI charges result.
A Michigan man from Marion faces a multitude of criminal charges, including DUI, after he allegedly led police on a chase recently. The man was initially reported driving the wrong way on a road in Montcalm County. Police, who were apparently alerted to a possible DUI, said they located the man driving erratically, prompting them to initiate a traffic stop.
Last week I posted about the Michigan "super drunk" law that defines a higher level of drunkenness as a blood alcohol level of 0.17 percent. Under the drunk driving laws in our state, a blood alcohol level of 0.17 percent or greater can face harsher penalties than those whose BAC is under that threshold.