Stacey M. Washington, Attorney and CounselorAttorney and Counselor
Protect Your Rights, Call or Email Me Today.
734-274-6567888-769-0091
734-274-6567 888-769-0091

Underage Drinking & Driving in Michigan

Beer-240035.jpg

In Michigan, individuals who drink and drive under the age of 21 may face severe criminal penalties. For instance, it is not uncommon for a young adult to be charged with the unlawful consumption or possession of alcohol in addition to any underage drinking and driving charges.

Read on to learn more about the legal ramifications you may incur as a result of an underage drinking and driving conviction in Michigan.

Michigan's Zero Tolerance Law

Michigan has a zero tolerance law in regard to minors who operate a motor vehicle while intoxicated. If you are under the age of 21, it is against the law to drive with a bodily alcohol content (BAC) of 0.02% to 0.07%, or with the presence of any alcohol in your body except when consumed as part of a generally recognized religious service or ceremony.

Sentencing & Penalties for Underage Drunk Driving in Michigan

If you are under 21 years of age, and convicted for driving a motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol, you may be subject to the following sentencing and penalties if your BAC is between 0.02% to 0.07%:

1. First Offense

If you are convicted for the first time, you may have to pay a fine of up to $250 and a $500 driver responsibility fee each year for 2 years. Additionally, you may have to spend up to 360 hours in community service. Your driver's license will be restricted for 30 days and you will incur 4 points on your driving record.

2. Second Offense

If you commit a second offense within a seven year period after any prior DUI offense, you may have to pay a fine of up to $500 and a $500 driver responsibility fee each year for 2 years. Additionally, you may have to serve up to 60 days of community service and 93 days in jail. Your driver's license will be suspended for a minimum of 90 days if the prior DUI was not within the previous 7 years; or a minimum 1 year revocation or denial of your license if you have a prior DUI within the previous 7 years. And, 4 points will be added to your driving record.

As illustrated above, underage drinking and driving may result in serious legal consequences. Contact Ann Arbor DUI attorney Stacey Washington if you or a loved one has been arrested and charged with underage drinking and driving in Michigan. Stacey has successfully represented minors charged with underage drinking and driving throughout Washtenaw County. Please email or call 734-274-6567 to speak with a DUI attorney.

Sources

Michigan Substance Abuse and Driving

Michigan State cornerback Ezra Robinson faces underage drinking/driving sentencing next week

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
<#if page.ID == "Thank-You.shtml">