Stacey M. Washington, Attorney and CounselorAttorney and Counselor
Protect Your Rights, Call or Email Me Today.
734-274-6567888-769-0091

5 Things You Need to Know About Your DUI Case

5 Things You Need to Know About Your DUI Case.jpgBeing charged and convicted of a DUI in Ann Arbor can result in serious professional and personal consequences. Below is an overview of the 5 things you need to know about your DUI case. Read on to learn more about what may happen to you if charged with a DUI in Ann Arbor.

  1. You Will Likely Be Charged with a Misdemeanor for a First Offense

Most first-time DUI offenders are charged with a misdemeanor. Criminal penalties for a misdemeanor OWI include serving up to 93 days in jail, being required to pay $500 or more in penalties and fines, and performing up to 360 hours of community service. Administrative penalties include having your driver's license suspended for up to 180 days, 6 points added to your driving record and $2000 in driver responsibility fees.

In Michigan, if your blood alcohol content (BAC) is above .17%, you will face enhanced administrative and criminal penalties. Criminal penalties for a high BAC DUI include serving up to 180 days in jail, paying $700 or more in court penalties and fines, and performing up to 360 hours of community service. Administrative penalties include having your driver's license suspended for up to one year and 6 points being added to your driving record. You will also be required to complete an alcohol and substance abuse assessment and to install a breath alcohol ignition interlock device for nearly a year.

2. You Will Be Required to Go to Court

You will have to attend an arraignment, a pretrial conference or a preliminary examination if you are charged with a felony DUI. You will have a trial and/or sentencing hearing if the charge is not dismissed. It is important to obtain legal advice prior to going to court. You may feel confident in handling your own arraignment but I strongly encourage you to consult with an attorney prior to doing so. Hiring an experienced attorney can result in the charge asserted against you being reduced or completely dismissed. Contact my law office for a free consultation.

3. You May Lose Your Driver's License

As mentioned above, you should be prepared to lose certain driving privileges for a period of time if you are convicted of a DUI. Depending on the nature of your DUI, you may only be able to drive under certain restrictions (i.e., to and from work or school only). You have the right to be represented by counsel during your court hearings. Consult with an attorney prior to going to court.

4. Be Prepared to Have an Alcohol and Substance Abuse Assessment

Many people make the mistake of drinking and driving. Such actions often result from substance abuse and/or alcoholism or drug addiction. All defendants convicted of a DUI are required to have an alcohol and substance abuse assessment. As part of the sentence, defendants are required to follow the assessment recommendations, including attending any classes or treatment programs. Failure to comply with the assessment recommendations and/or sentence conditions could result in jail time.

5. Hire an Experienced Ann Arbor DUI Attorney

If you have been arrested for a DUI in Washtenaw County, contact an attorney. An attorney can guide and represent you through the criminal justice process. I invite you to contact my law office in confidence to discuss your DUI case and retaining my services. Being convicted of a DUI can result in serious personal and professional consequences including loss of your freedom. Call 734-274-6567 to speak with me directly.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information