Driving is definitely a privilege. For Ann Arbor and Washtenaw County, Michigan, residents, losing the privilege to drive can have disastrous consequences. For one, the person’s employment can be compromised. The time with family can also significantly decrease. Also, there are fines to pay and other consequences to endure just to have the person’s driving privileges reinstated.
A 30-year-old man may be facing such consequences after being arrested because of drunk driving. In Lyon Township, several miles northeast of Ann Arbor, officers received a call from a gas station clerk about a man who urinated in the convenience store’s cooler.
When the officer pursued the man, he saw the man swerving between lanes in his Jeep and he hit a curb. After pulling the Jeep over, the officer administered a field sobriety test to the man, which he allegedly failed. A blood alcohol test also showed that the man had a 0.021 percent BAC. A 0.08 or higher BAC percent according to Michigan’s drunk driving laws means that a person is legally drunk.
The man was arrested and taken to the police department, where a second test resulted in a BAC of 0.19 percent. Marijuana was also found in his Jeep.
Driving with a 0.17 percent BAC and higher is considered a misdemeanor in the state. In addition to an ignition interlock device requirement plus suspended license, a resident may also have to pay a maximum fine of $700, provide community service and possibly serve time in jail.
All of this can be too much for an Ann Arbor and Washtenaw County resident to handle, which is why it is advisable that a person who has had a similar experience seek counsel from a criminal defense professional. A professional can help challenge Driving Under the Influence charges as well as file for a conditional license.
Source: hometownlife.com “Fire damages Lyon Township home under construction,” Diane Gale Andreassi, Sept. 3, 2013