Stacey M. Washington, Attorney and CounselorAttorney and Counselor
Protect Your Rights, Call or Email Me Today.
734-274-6567888-769-0091

Bloomfield police cite minors for underage drinking

According to officers from the Bloomfield Township Police Department, several teens were cited for underage drinking after officers responded to a call about a house party on December 22, 2012.

Police say that they arrived at the residence after a caller suggested that there was suspected underage drinking at a house party on the premises. Police claim to have asked the owner for entrance into the home and found a large group of teens, some of whom were allegedly consuming alcohol.

Those who were caught with alcohol in their possession were cited for underage drinking and release to their parent's custody, reports indicate.

It's a common misconception in Michigan, and in other states, that it's all right for parents to provide alcohol for their children when they are at their own home, but state police, as well as many criminal defense lawyers, point out that this simply isn't the case.

According to Michigan laws, supplying alcohol to a minor carries serious penalties regardless of if they are a parent, older sibling, or other family member. A person convicted of selling or supplying alcohol to a minor could face a $1,000 fine and up to 60 days in jail for a first-time conviction.

The dangers of alcohol poisoning in minors also can be a factor and can drastically increase the penalties against a person if the minor dies because of alcohol consumption.

It's important for teens and adults to remember that state laws are strict when it comes to underage drinking and penalties can be harsh without the help of a lawyer.

Source: patch.com, "Police: Home Locks Glued Shut; Minors Cited at House Party," Art Aisner, Dec. 28, 2012

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information