Stacey M. Washington, Attorney and CounselorAttorney and Counselor
Protect Your Rights, Call or Email Me Today.
734-274-6567888-769-0091
734-274-6567 888-769-0091

How Much Does an OWI Cost in Michigan?

How Much Does an OWI Cost in Michigan?

The costs of a drunk driving conviction in Michigan will vary based upon the type of offense committed. For instance, a conviction for Operating While Intoxicated (OWI) versus Operating While Visibly Impaired (OWVI) will result in varying out-of-pocket expenses. The information I have listed below pertains to a first time OWI or High BAC/Super Drunk conviction. Read on to learn how much a drunk driving conviction in Michigan costs.

Bail

The cost of bail may range anywhere between $100 to $5,000 depending on the nature of the charge and your criminal history. If this is your first OWI charge and there are no serious injuries or death from an accident, you may be released on your own recognizance without having to pay a cash bond.

OWI Attorney Fees

The attorney fees you may have to pay will vary depending on the type of charge(s) pending against you as well as the level of experience of the attorney. You can expect to pay anywhere between $1,500 to $20,000 for legal representation.

OWI Fines

A first time offender will face anywhere between $100 to $500 in fines for an OWI conviction. For instance, if you refuse to take a preliminary breath test, you may be charged a civil infraction, which carries a fine up to $150 plus court costs.

Court Costs

In addition to OWI fines, you will be required to pay court costs as well. Court costs for a first offense range from $200 to $1,000 depending upon the particular judge and jurisdiction.

License Fees

Upon being convicted for a OWI in Michigan, your license will be suspended. You will have to pay a reinstatement fee in order to get your license back. You will be required to pay a reinstatement fee of $125 if your license was suspended, revoked, or restricted. Additionally, you will have to pay a driver responsibility fee of $1,000 each year for 2 consecutive years for a driving while intoxicated conviction or a High BAC conviction.

Ignition Interlock Device

If convicted of High BAC or Super Drunk, you have to pay for the installation, rental, and maintenance of the ignition interlock device that is required to be installed in your vehicle. The installation may cost between $100 and $200 while the monthly rental fee may range from $70 to $100 or more.

Insurance Premiums

Your automobile insurance premium will also increase for an OWI conviction. For instance, your premium may increase by a few hundred dollars a month or it could even be doubled.

If you have been arrested for an OWI/OWPD in Ann Arbor, contact Ann Arbor criminal defense attorney Stacey Washington to help you navigate through this difficult situation in your life. Stacey Washington has helped numerous clients mitigate any long-term consequences of OWIs/OWPDs.

Sources

Substance Abuse and Driving

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
<#if page.ID == "Thank-You.shtml">