Stacey M. Washington, Attorney and CounselorAttorney and Counselor
Protect Your Rights, Call or Email Me Today.
734-274-6567888-769-0091

Felony Third DUI Offense - What Ann Arbor Drivers Need to Know

Felony Third DUI Offense - What Ann Arbor Drivers Need to Know.jpgA third DUI offense in Michigan is classified as a felony. A convicted defendant can face serious criminal and administrative license penalties. If you have been charged with a felony third DUI in Ann Arbor, contact my law office for representation. Read on to learn more about what Ann Arbor drivers need to know when charged with a felony third DUI offense.

Criminal Penalties

If you are convicted of a felony third DUI offense in Ann Arbor, the following criminal penalties will apply:

  • 1 to 5 years prison or probation with 30 days to 1 year in jail and 60 to 180 days community service

  • Fines and costs up to $5,000

  • mandatory vehicle immobilization for 1 to 3 years unless the vehicle is forfeited

  • revocation and denial of the driver license for 1 to 5 years

If a serious bodily injury occurred as a result of the DUI, more severe penalties will apply.

Criminal Plea Bargains

Plea bargains allow defendants to plead to a lesser charge and/or have a less severe sentence. If the defendant rejects the prosecutor's offer and pleads not guilty, he/she may have a trial where the prosecutor must prove guilt beyond a reasonable doubt. An attorney can assist the defendant in determining whether a plea bargain or trial is in his/her best interests.

In Washtenaw County, it is rare that a felony DUI offender be afforded the opportunity to plead to a lesser offense. Hiring the right attorney can result in possibly obtaining a plea bargain for a less serious offense or a lower sentence. Contact my law office to discuss your options for your Ann Arbor felony third DUI charge.

Administrative Penalties

If you are convicted of a felony third DUI offense in Ann Arbor, the following administrative penalties will be enforced against you:

  • The payment of a $2,000 Driver Responsibility Fee to the Secretary of State

  • Driver's license revocation/denial from 1 to 5 years

  • Six points added to your driver's record

  • Driver's license confiscation

  • Vehicle immobilization for 1 to 3 years unless the vehicle is forfeited

Being convicted of a felony third DUI offense can result in you losing your job as well as your right to own a gun or vote. Hire an experienced DUI attorney to represent you. Repeat drunk driving offenders face severe penalties. Hiring an attorney can help you assert a defense that challenges the evidence and may result in either dismissal or reduction of the charges. Contact my law office to discuss your case. I have handled a number of tough cases with good results for my clients.

In addition, I can discuss alcohol treatment options with you to assist you with both sentencing and the license restoration process. Being charged with a felony third DUI may stem from your challenges with alcoholism and addiction. Obtain professional treatment to get the help you need.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information