Stacey M. Washington, Attorney and CounselorAttorney and Counselor
Protect Your Rights, Call or Email Me Today.
734-274-6567888-769-0091

Washtenaw County Traffic Ticket Attorney

Police Officer Writing Traffic TicketTypically, when many people receive a traffic ticket in Washtenaw County, they don't hire an attorney. Instead, they pay the fine. There are certain circumstances however when it is beneficial to hire a traffic attorney.

If you have recently received a traffic ticket or are charged with a traffic crime in the Washtenaw County area I invite you to contact me for a consultation. Hiring an experienced traffic attorney can result in obtaining a favorable plea bargain in which no or fewer points are added to your driver's record and less impact on your vehicle insurance premiums. I provide legal representation to Washtenaw County residents cited with the following traffic offenses and infractions:

  • Excessive Speeding

  • Hit and Run / Leaving the Scene of an Accident

  • Driving While Intoxicated

  • Driving with an Suspended/Revoked License

  • Careless and Reckless Driving

  • Moving Violations

  • Improper Lane Change

  • Fleeing and Eluding

  • Failure to Stop at a Red Light

  • Failure to Stop for a School Bus

  • Manslaughter or Negligent Homicide Involving a Motor Vehicle

Traffic Ticket/Offense Violation Driver's License Points

If you are found responsible or convicted of violating a Michigan traffic law you will be subject to fines and penalties as well as assessment of points on your driving record. Each traffic violation has a point value and will remain on your record for up to two years after the date of conviction.

  • Six Points
  • Manslaughter, negligent homicide, or other felony involving use of a motor vehicle.

  • Operating under the influence of liquor or drugs.

  • Failing to stop and give identification at the scene of a crash.

  • Reckless driving.

  • Unlawful bodily alcohol content of 0.08 or more.

  • Refusal to take a chemical test.

  • Fleeing or eluding a police officer.

  • Four Points

  • Drag racing.

  • Operating while visibly impaired.

  • Under age 21 with any bodily alcohol content.

  • 16 mph or more over the legal speed limit.

  • Failure to yield/show due caution for emergency vehicles.

  • Three Points

  • Careless driving

  • Disobeying a traffic signal or stop sign or improper passing

  • 11 through 15 mph over the legal speed limit

  • Failure to stop at railroad crossing

  • Failure to stop for a school bus or for disobeying a school crossing guard

  • Two Points

  • 10 mph or less over the legal speed limit

  • Open alcohol container in vehicle

  • All other traffic law moving violations

  • Refusal of Preliminary Breath Test (PBT) by anyone under age 21

If you have received a traffic ticket or committed a traffic offense/crime that is detrimental to your driving record or can result in a conviction and possible jail time, I invite you to contact me for a consultation. I can be reached directly by calling 734-274-6567 or by email. Don't feel pressured into paying a traffic ticket or pleading guilty to a motor vehicle offense. Doing so can result in costly points and/or a conviction remaining permanently on your criminal record.

Sources

Michigan Driver's License Point System

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information