1. Do I have to consent to taking a preliminary breath or chemical test?
No. Under Michigan State law, you have the right to refuse to take a preliminary breath test and/or a chemical test. If you refuse to take a preliminary breath test, you will receive a civil infraction ticket. However, if you refuse to take a chemical test without good cause, your driver's license will be automatically suspended for one year. Furthermore, a warrant can be issued allowing a chemical test, such as a blood sample, to be taken from you in order to determine your blood alcohol content (BAC).
In 2013, Matthew Cordle turned himself in for causing a fatality while driving drunk in Ohio. He initially hid his crime, but later made a video confession about the matter and published it online. Cordle was arrested and formally charged with aggravated vehicular homicide and driving under the influence after the video was released. He was later sentenced to six-and-a-half years in prison upon his conviction. The judge also ordered his driver's license be suspended for life.
Before you hire an Ann Arbor DUI attorney, you should review his or her qualifications to ensure that you receive the best legal representation possible. For example, you should inquire about the attorney's drunk driving defense experience and whether the attorney has been successful in obtaining a reduction in charges or case dismissal for his or her clients.
If you are arrested for drunk driving in Michigan, in addition to facing criminal charges, you will also have to face civil administrative penalties with Michigan'sSecretary of State Driver Traffic Safety Division (TSD). The TSD will determine whether or not your driver's license will be restricted, suspended, or revoked as a result of your drunk driving conviction. Read on to learn more.
A 26-year-old man faces his 5th drunk driving charge. A police officer approached his vehicle upon seeing it stopped in the middle of an intersection at a yellow caution light. A Van Buren County sheriff's deputy later determined that the man was intoxicated after conducting a breath test and that he had a 4-year-old child in the car with him. The man was charged with operating a vehicle while intoxicated (OWI) and child endangerment.
When you are charged for drunk driving in Michigan, finding and hiring a DUI attorney may be a challenging task. For example, you will need to consider several factors when retaining counsel such as the attorney's trial experience, their past experience with handling DUI cases, and if he/she has the proper knowledge and resources to adequately represent you.