How Much Does a DUI Cost in Michigan?

A driving under the influence (DUI) conviction can cost you in many ways. Your reputation may be negatively impacted. You may go to jail or prison and lose your vehicle. You could lose your home and even lose your family. Another burden of being a DUI conviction is the heavy financial cost you will endure. You need to know the costs of a DUI and how to defend yourself.

If you get a DUI conviction, you may lose thousands of dollars for some or all of the following:

  • Towing and impound fees
  • Bail or bond
  • Alcohol tether
  • Court fines and costs
  • Payment for substance abuse classes and treatment ordered by the court
  • Increased insurance premiums for many months or years
  • Cancellation of insurance policy
  • Ignition interlock device installation and monthly maintenance fees
  • Vehicle immobilization fees
  • Expert witnesses
  • Lost work time and pay
  • Transportation fees while unable to legally drive
  • Loss of job
  • Lost wages for time spent in court
  • Lost license
  • Driver Responsibility and reinstatement fees
  • License plate replacement fee
  • Jail or prison time
  • A DUI conviction for the rest of your life

Having an experienced Washtenaw County DUI defense attorney will be money well spent and will help you avoid some of these financial and emotional costs. Don't delay. Contact my Ann Arbor law office at 734-274-6567 or toll free at 888-769-0091.

How Much Will My Specific DUI Cost?

The costs of a drunk driving conviction in Michigan will vary based upon the specific offense. DUI penalties are intended to punish. Even a first offense carries a heavy cost, so you need an attorney from the very beginning. DUI penalties increase significantly with each additional DUI conviction.

Court fines for a first offense DUI start at $100 to $500. Court costs increase the final amount substantially. The court fines and costs for first offense DUI convictions in Washtenaw County are typically $1200 or more. The exact dollar amount and jail or prison time you ultimately pay will depend on whether this is your first or subsequent offense, the blood alcohol content level, and whether there was an injury, death or property damage. It has been estimated that the cost of a first DUI offense in Michigan is $8500 to $11,000 without including lost wages and transportation costs.

Get An Experienced DUI Lawyer To Lower Your Costs And Pain

A DUI conviction is serious and costly both emotionally and financially. Finding an Ann Arbor DUI attorney familiar with the law and court process can help you minimize or avoid costs. Being well represented in and out of court is one of the most efficient and effective ways to limit your financial burden and pain and to protect your rights.

DUI attorney Stacey M. Washington will fight to minimize your costs and pain for a reasonable fee. Contact my Ann Arbor law office at 734-274-6567 or toll free at 888-769-0091. Call now because the longer you wait to get an attorney, the more pain you will suffer - emotionally and in your wallet.